The Digital Humanities

Final Reflections…

Posted on: November 19, 2011

Since last week was our final seminar, there are no class readings and no wiki discussion to reflect on so I will jump right into talking about Wednesday’s class discussion on collaborating.  It was a good seminar led by Melanie and Heidi. We talked about collaboration between authorities and the general public, particularly in public spaces like museums, or via online tagging.  Class members had differing views on the benefits of public tagging. Ryan was concerned about the quality of public contributions. And in her blog, Stacey seems to doubt the benefits of public tagging.  We also spent some time discussing what it means to be an authority, specifically in relation to Gee’s article. Overall the discussion was insightful and engaging, and was an excellent way to end a successful semester.

On twitter aboutfemhistory has posted links to general info about Catharine the Great and Elizabeth I, _Womens_History tweeted about a new exhibit related to women’s labour, Boston1775 asks about Guy Fawkes’ place in the historical memory, and womenshistory continues to tweet snippets about different women in history. This time: Karen Silkwood. Sadly, as this is my last blog post, the Women’s History Network has nothing new to offer me this week nor does the Writing Women’s History blog. Oh well, they’ve offered enough interesting information and links in the past for me to forgive this week’s oversights.

As for the [Digital] Method, well I’ve blogged quite proficiently about it today already and have little to add here. This week I’ve used Zotero, Adobe Acrobat Pro, Evernote, and Dropbox rather regularly, as usual. They appear to be the tools I’ve benefitted most from throughout the semester. That being said, perhaps as I mentioned in an earlier post, I may find use for the other tools in the near future.

On the blogosphere, I’ve noticed that Melanie seems to have had little use for a number of the same tools as me (see blog posts below). This may be because we are both PC users, and have limited knowledge of things like HTML. Dave too has been using Evernote proficiently it appears as he spends a considerable amount of time praising it in his blog. Robert on the other hand appears to dislike Evernote! He doesn’t know what he’s missing…And I agree with Ryan, Adobe Acrobat Pro is great! Sean has asked in his blog whether DH itself is a tool. He seems to think so, but perhaps it is more than that…

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Valerie: Robert, what a great question! Women's studies courses can be fascinating simply because they force us to think in ways we never considered before. I
  • robertebergeRobert: Hey Valerie, I had a question for you. On the spectrum of feminism, where do you think your interests lie...eg. liberal, radical etc. I took a

Categories